Elections Information

Executive and Faculty Representative Elections

Information & Timeline

Elections have concluded for the 2021-2022 term. Here are your results:

Executive Committee:

President: Julia Cornester
VP Operations & Finance: Chris Edwards
VP Academic: Kareena Hart
VP External: Kelli Buckreus

Faculty of Business Representatives:

Margaret Clappison
David Albert Newman
Ian Chitwood

Faculty of Health Diciplines Representatives:

Sarah Reid
Sabrina Martin
Kayleigh Dodge
Paul Valenti

Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education Representatives:

Heather McGilvary
Sarah James
Alice Kang

Faculty of Science and Technology Representatives:

Ajibade Shodunke
Russell Rupok

Elections Nomination Form (available in January 2022)

Executive Committee Information

AUGSA has four (4) members on the Executive Committee that report to Council. This includes AUGSAs President, Vice President of Operations & Finance, Vice President Academic, and Vice President External. Serving one-year terms from May 1 to April 30, each position is uniquely positioned to advance the objectives of the organization with a primary focus on student representation and advocacy.

Faculty Representative Information

AUGSA has thirteen (13) Faculty Representatives that serve on Council for an elected one-year term from May 1 to April 30. This includes:

  • Two (2) Representatives from Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Five (5) Representatives from Faculty of Health Disciplines
  • Three (3) Representatives from Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Three (3) Representatives from Faculty of Business

This Council represents the graduate student membership with each Council member representing their faculty.  All meetings for Faculty Representatives are online using Microsoft Teams Meetings.


All Graduate Students are eligible to run in the AUGSA Elections. For Executive Committee positions you must reside in Canada. For some Executive Committee positions candidates are preferably located in Alberta.

  • Executive Committee: Throughout their term voting members of the Executive Committee must be an Active Member of the Association.
  • Council: All councilors must be active members in good standing and successfully complete at least three (3) University graduate credits during their term in office.
  • Permanent full time AU staff are not eligible to run for either Executive or Council positions.

*Active members of the association includes all graduate students, program and non-program, at the University who are in good standing.