News & Updates

AU Graduate Students Awarded Alberta Innovates: Technology Futures Awards

We are pleased to report that four AU graduate students have received Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures awards.

AUGSA would like to congratulate the following students for being awarded the Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures award:

  • Giovanni Farias, EdD(DE) student
    Supervisor: Dr. Mohamed Ally
  • Charles Bernard, MSc(IS) student
    Supervisor: Dr. Sabine Graf
  • Michael Procter, MSc(IS) student
    Co-supervisors: Dr. Oscar Lin and Dr. Bob Heller
  • Cheng-Hsin, MSc(IS) student
    Supervisor: Dr. Maiga Chang

All of these students are focusing on research in the area of ICT. The Master’s students have been awarded $10,000/year for two years. The Doctoral student has been awarded $15,000 per year for 4 years. It was a competitive pool of applications with more applications than last year. This is the second year that AU has been given the opportunity to offer this award. Depending upon the amount of funding received from Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures, a second call for applications may occur later this year.

The award is to support academically superior graduate students leading to a master’s or doctoral degree. The scholarship is designed to enable these promising students to succeed in areas of scientific research which are strategically important to Alberta. These areas are: Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Nanotechnology, and Omics in and of themselves or additionally which support the areas of Health, Bio-industries, Energy, and Environment (Alberta Innovates- Technology Futures).